CurrClick
Quick Links
Browse
Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
See it and Say it Flip Flop Spanish: Whole Family Spanish
by Alice L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/25/2013 13:56:48

My husband has always wanted me to teach our children Spanish so when I got the opportunity to participate in the See It & Say It Spanish pilot program, I was delighted! I had previously purchased a costly box curriculum with all the bells and whistles for over $300.00. With no real background in Spanish, I was scared silly when I opened the box and found two, 2 inch teacher's binders and oodles of charts, cards, workbooks, books, and CD's. I promptly closed that box and put it on the schoolroom shelf. I did that every summer for 5 years... until See It & Say It came along! I can't say enough great things about this curriculum!

First, I love, love, LOVE that we can sit down together and learn from this curriculum as a family... no matter our ages! (DS, 13, DD, 9, and DD 4). I love that within minutes of listening and learning WITH my children (meaning, I don't have to study and learn before I teach), I am able to guide them as we begin speaking Spanish, immediately. I love that Sra. Gose suggested we have a room in our home or a time of day that is designated "Spanish" to practice hearing and responding to one another in Spanish. (For example, she suggested the kitchen or while unloading dishes. Turns out, the first few lessons include kitchen items so our family speaks Spanish while we prepare meals together then show off our new words and abilities with Dad at the dinner table. The kids especially love when they get to teach him a new word!)

After we listen to Sra. Gose introduce the words and walk us through the lesson, she leads us through games to play. My kids tend to be a little competitive so we did order extra sets of cards for each child. The kids then use those cards to build sentences with their new words. Often times, building these sentences leads to looking up and learning more words as the children want to convey more and more complex ideas in their sentences. We end the lesson with writing our new words or sentences (depending on the age of the child). The kids really enjoy the games and are excited that we are learning while we play. My 4 year old often asks if it's "time for Spenglish yet?".

As a teacher, I never have that overwhelming "Oh no, it's time for Spanish" feeling. Our entire family always enjoys See It & Say It Spanish. It's easy to pull out and press play for our lesson, then easy to replicate the lessons the rest of the week with or without the CD. Hear it, play with it, then write it. All types of learning styles (and teaching styles!) are accounted for with this curriculum. My only challenge with See It & Say It Spanish is sitting back and watching the kids play without taking over! (Maybe I should get my OWN set of flash cards, too!)

We love See It and Say It Spanish and we know you will too!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
See it and Say it Flip Flop Spanish: Whole Family Spanish
Click to show product description

Add to CurrClick Order

Flip Flop French: Ages 3-5: Level 1
by Andrea G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/08/2012 10:02:38

this was geared towarad ages 3-5 but I purchased this for my junior high school student learning French as a fun and easy way to practice and review ! Cute !



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Flip Flop French: Ages 3-5: Level 1
Click to show product description

Add to CurrClick Order

Flip Flop Spanish: Ages 3-5: Level 1
by Tish M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/13/2011 19:04:30

First let me start by saying I have been home schooling for 7 years and have 23 hours of college-level Spanish and my husband is a fluent Spanish-speaking Latino. I purchased this because it said it was for AGES 3-5. However, I think it is more appropriate for older kids. My 8-year old son could not do the writing or reading asked in the program and it frustrated us both terribly. I finally gave up on my third attempt through. We never got past lesson three. I did really like how it was laid out and how easy it would be for someone with little or no Spanish to teach their kids. However, I believe the age range is misleading.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Flip Flop Spanish: Ages 3-5: Level 1
Click to show product description

Add to CurrClick Order

Publisher Reply:
I'm so sorry for your frustration. As stated on the "How to use this book" page, we of course don't expect children of ages 3-5 to write everything (or ANYTHING) in this workbook. It should be easy and enjoyable. The child and parent are reading through it, and the child dictates to the parent what to write. I'm so sorry you got frustrated. That is the very last thing I ever want from my curriculum. Gosh. I'm so sorry. These pages were all used for several years in my 3-4 year old classes. The parents talked through the homework pages with their children, and then wrote in the answers quickly for them. All were pleased. Perhaps if you tried this method, you and your son would have better luck. Maybe give it a try, without him ever holding a pencil - just telling you where to write what. I think you'll both thoroughly enjoy that method. Hope this helps! Sra. Gose
Free Spanish Lesson: Breakfast
by Mrs. D. M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/16/2011 12:30:41

A fun way to learn 4 basic breakfast words. Tactile, visual, and auditory components to the lesson.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Free Spanish Lesson: Breakfast
Click to show product description

Add to CurrClick Order

Flip Flop French: Ages 3-5: Level 1
by Christine H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/20/2009 17:07:57

I had a great deal of difficulty in printing this. It seems that the images were not flattened and would not print properly.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Flip Flop French: Ages 3-5: Level 1
Click to show product description

Add to CurrClick Order

Publisher Reply:
Hi Christine - I'm not sure why you had trouble - but I'm happy to send you the pdf through an email, if you like. Hope this helps! Sra. Gose
Flip Flop Spanish: Ages 3-5: Level 1
by Anita C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/28/2008 17:31:48

simple to use, nice, gentle pace, absolutely perfect for us!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Flip Flop Spanish: Ages 3-5: Level 1
Click to show product description

Add to CurrClick Order

Flip Flop French: Ages 3-5: Level 1
by Lori B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/18/2008 21:33:01

I received Flip Flop French: Ages 3-5: Level 1 through CurrClick's weekly freebies (what a wonderful blessings these are!). First I wanted to clarify that there is a SECOND download. This zip file has the MP3s with the pronounciation vocals - very helpful for those of us with no French speaking experience. Just make sure when you receive your confirmation email, click the link with the second download in order to get these helpful files.

Other than that, we are just starting these lessons - my children (6yob, 5yog & 3yog) are very excited! We'll let you know how it goes...

Thank you so much~ Lori Butterfield



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Flip Flop French: Ages 3-5: Level 1
Click to show product description

Add to CurrClick Order

Spanish Fun Activity Calendar
by Melissa T. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/18/2008 20:25:55

What a fantastic idea! Use this calendar to teach your child a phrase a day. On the fifth day, put them all together to make a sentence. Your child can also use this calendar to practice counting in Spanish, learn the names for the seasons, the days of the week, and the months. Each month of the calendar also has a picture which your child can label with the new words they have learned.

Special "assignments" are scattered throughout the calendar. These assignments are fun review activities that have to do with the sentences the children are currently learning. "Call out the Spanish body parts and wave or pat them as you call out the name," "Look outside describe the weather in Spanish," and other things like that.

The best part about this product is you can start it at any time. You can even do it more than once , going through it each year so that your child reviews and retains what they have learned. In just a few minutes a day, your child will be developing their Spanish vocabulary. Even us busy moms can handle that.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Spanish Fun Activity Calendar
Click to show product description

Add to CurrClick Order

Flip Flop French: Ages 3-5: Level 1
by Kyla M. M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/18/2008 11:42:51

This book kind of loses its "flip book" quality in e-book format, though I suppose if you were printing it out you could print lessons 1-7 going one way, then flip your papers to print lessons 8-12 upside down from the "back" of the book. Also, the CD is not included with the book. I don't know firsthand what is on the CD, but got the impression it was simply to aid with pronunciation. So if the person teaching the child knows how to pronounce French, you could probably do fine without the CD. (Pronunciation guides are offered for all new vocabulary, though it's generally best if the person modelling pronunciation is comfortable speaking the language.)

The lessons are intended for children 3-5, though some of the concepts covered seemed to me advanced enough for a student in late primary who is beginning to study French, or who needs remediation. The method is conversational, so don't expect pages and pages of verb conjugations! The artwork is attractive and fun, and the much of the type large.

I found the approach gentle. There are a few written exercises, but they are made fun and often include drawing or colouring, to keep a young student's attention. Rather than jumping abruptly from a vocabulary of single words and idiomatic expressions the text begins to combine French & English together, "plugging in" the French wherever the words have been covered, and using them in a word order that reflects French grammar (e.g. most adjectives come after the noun.)

Many of the explanations seem to be for the adult (I don't know that most 3 year olds are ready for discussions of silent letters or the three ways to say "the" in French!) Again, though, I believe this makes the Flip Flop approach valuable for students older than those in the target group. I know when I began to learn French at age 10, it was explanations like the ones in the book that made all the difference for me. Knowing that, not only are the words in a foreign language different from our own, but that each language follows its own rules for phonics, grammar, punctuation, etc. eliminated all the confusion I was experiencing! French went from being this arbitrary bunch of words & expressions I had to first encounter then memorize, to being a logical and predictable language that could be more easily learned once the global rules were made clear.

The French covered in this book seems to be based on that spoken in Quebec, given the pronunciations & some of the vocabulary I saw in my quick overview of this ebook. I think it would be quite serviceable if your student plans to visit outside of North America, and actually give this program extra points for not being obviously Parisian. There are a couple little sniggly details that I might have changed, however the overall text is well thought out & I believe students of any age could benefit from using the Flip Flop program as an introduction to French. I do, however, find the price a little steep in comparison with other resources available.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Flip Flop French: Ages 3-5: Level 1
Click to show product description

Add to CurrClick Order

Publisher Reply:
From the Flip Flop Learning Creator - I'm so glad you are able to enjoy Flip Flop French! We flipped the book all right-side up for the ebook for ease of printing - you are right, no upside down pages in this format. The mp3 files are available right here on currclick, and are included in your purchase price, so be sure to take advantage of the download - you can even make your own CD. Thanks for your input!
Flip Flop Spanish: Ages 3-5: Level 2
by melissa w. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2008 11:18:34

My kids really love this Spanish set. My girls are actually 6 and 8 years old. This book is not below their ability, and they have the bonus of being able to write as well as say the lessons. The mp3 tracks that come with the set really help them pronounce the words correctly. Sra. Gosa has them act out the words they are learning. They have so much fun, I have to remind them that they also need to be paying attention to correct pronunciation. We have been doing a little Spanish here and there since they were old enough to learn English. I have taken just two semesters of conversational Spanish via community college, so my ability is very limited. After my girls finished book one, a bilingual friend of mine came over to speak to them in Spanish and see how well their lessons sank in. She was impressed by how much they could process and speak. It seems they are not just memorizing words, but are beginning to understand the language and figure out meanings for new words. I am so happy and grateful!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Flip Flop Spanish: Ages 3-5: Level 2
Click to show product description

Add to CurrClick Order

Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Popular Classes and Curriculum
 Gift Certificates