CurrClick
Browse Categories
Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
MIRL States by the Numbers - Wyoming
by Melissa W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/10/2012 17:19:15

This resource is a math resource for older children. It is primarily doing math which is based on statistics from each state. It has all 50 states in it and it is broken down into sections for each one. I found it to be a little redundant because it does the same exact type of math problems throughout the entire book for each state. It is okay but could use more variations and maybe some illustrations to make it a little more fun and not so redundant. It is not a geography or US resource, only math that is based on info. from each state.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
MIRL States by the Numbers - Wyoming
Click to show product description

Add to CurrClick Order

MIRL States by the Numbers - Washington
by Chris P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/11/2010 09:11:06

LOVED this product!. My 4th grade son is very good at math. This unit study tied perfectly in with our Washington State study and included real-to-life applications in our state. This biggest benefit of this study was that it took concepts my son had be introduced to and took him so much deeper into those concepts. As an example, placed value was excellerated into the hundreds of thousands and millions. Rounding and estimation was taken to the U.S. and state population levels. MIRL provides good explanations with examples and then gives lots of opportunity to practice the concepts. Not for struggling math students. But great for those in 3-6 grades for going deeper or for review & practice with older grade students.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
MIRL States by the Numbers - Washington
Click to show product description

Add to CurrClick Order

MIRL States by the Numbers - 50 State Bundle
by Patti C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/17/2009 16:06:18

I have used, or have, most of the Make It Real Learning series. This series has been absolutely fantastic for our home school. My daughter loves the fact that she's working with real world data and learning how to do things that even Saxon math doesn't cover. I just received the 50-state bundle of State by the Numbers, and couldn't be happier. We're studying United States geography this year and this set will definitely be incorporated into that study. Even though my daughter is beyond needing practice for some of the concepts, the data contained is a great addition to studying about each state. These contain data that you normally wouldn't include in a geography study (price for a stay in the hospital for each state). It brings the usually dry state information to life. I can't recommend trying this series enough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
MIRL States by the Numbers - 50 State Bundle
Click to show product description

Add to CurrClick Order

MIRL Fractions, Percents, Decimals II
by Heart o. t. M. T. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/01/2009 22:56:41

Another great product from Make It Real... my boy actually asked to do some work! That is worth shouting about! I've reviewed other products from this company and find that they are all equally brilliant in their method of teaching basic math skills. I'll repost my review below:

I have to say that I knew I was going to love this product when I saw the objectives page. It told me what to expect from it. I like that.

I was excited to see the inclusion of prices and estimates from actual stores and current census information. This book really lived up to it's promise. It is very relevant and that causes the children to engage and inquire further. The activities were just enough to supplement a math lesson and allow my son to see the practicality of the application he had just learned. And, eating his assignment after certain lessons was a bonus plan!

I must also add that I was very pleased with the layout and design of the ebook. I was very professional and appealing. The structure and organization made it very easy to navigate and execute the activities. For a busy mom like me that is a must!

I am very impressed with this product. It is excellent!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
MIRL Fractions, Percents, Decimals II
Click to show product description

Add to CurrClick Order

MIRL Activity Library, Volume 1
by Heart o. t. M. T. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/01/2009 22:51:07

I have to say that I knew I was going to love this product when I saw the objectives page. It told me what to expect from it. I like that.

I was excited to see the inclusion of prices and estimates from actual stores and current census information. This book really lived up to it's promise. It is very relevant and that causes the children to engage and inquire further. The activities were just enough to supplement a math lesson and allow my son to see the practicality of the application he had just learned. And, eating his assignment after certain lessons was a bonus plan!

I must also add that I was very pleased with the layout and design of the ebook. I was very professional and appealing. The structure and organization made it very easy to navigate and execute the activities. For a busy mom like me that is a must!

I am very impressed with this product. It is excellent!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
MIRL Activity Library, Volume 1
Click to show product description

Add to CurrClick Order

MIRL Fractions, Percents, Decimals II
by Teresa B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/30/2009 09:11:54

My 6th grade daughter loved this! She ASKED to do it and said it was fun. I was taking her to volunteer and she asked if she could take it with her to do in the car! She doesn't hate math but has never ASKED to do it.

I liked that the word problems were such that they would really come across in life. It gave several different scenarios in which to practice the skills. We really enjoyed using this book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
MIRL Fractions, Percents, Decimals II
Click to show product description

Add to CurrClick Order

MIRL Fractions, Percents, Decimals II
by Yvonne P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/30/2009 07:52:03

My daughter has enjoyed using this program. She found that when the math was applied to real situations it was easier to understand and follow. It made sense to her. Having the worked solutions helped her to understand where she had made a mistake with a calculation enabling her to correctly complete the questions when she tried them again.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
MIRL Arithmetic I
by Laura O N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/29/2009 09:08:47

Having heard the litany of complaints over math, having something that shows the kids real life examples of math is fantastic. This particular product has made a great supplement to our regular math studies. I've used pages as reinforcement of concepts learned while taking a break from the regular math text. As this particular product covers a wide variety of functions, I found a few assignments my third grader could do while more of them fit the knowledge level of my sixth grader.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
MIRL Arithmetic I
Click to show product description

Add to CurrClick Order

MIRL Arithmetic I
by Saara Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/27/2009 04:53:14

This book serie is wonderful that I recommend for all the parents for supporting their childrens thinking skills to develop. We used this book to complement our other studies while homeschooling. The bar charts and number estimations became common and all the studies of mathematics got extra meanings for 3rd and 4th graders. We were just about study big numbers and getting some meaning and understanding of those. Estimation and fractions become part of every day life. This book was perfect and nice because we connected it also for our geography and literature studies, the way what we plan to continue also in future. We continued given example works by both children creating them selves other similar problems to solve. Kids loved to draw and use graphs and reading of statistics. It was easy to modify the given works to fit for different skill levels.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
MIRL Linear Functions II
by Stacey N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/25/2009 06:58:14

I homeschool and will be using this with my daughter. I was so happy to find something to help her realize that she will be using a lot of the math that she is learning in everyday life. I hope to be using more of these books with my children! Thanks Frank!!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
MIRL Linear Functions II
Click to show product description

Add to CurrClick Order

MIRL Fractions, Percents, Decimals I
by Laura O N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/24/2009 08:07:59

For my boys that ask "when will I ever use this math?", this ebook helps provide those hands-on, real-life applications. My only wish is that there were more problems included in the ebook. So far, I have used this particular ebook with my eldest son who has just finished Math U See's Epsilon book (all fractions.) We are only doing the problems he is ready to do and will save the others (esp. decimals) to supplement his progress through the next MUS book. Regardless of the math curriculum you are using, ebooks such as this one can be a great supplement and help your student see those real life applications.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
MIRL Fractions, Percents, Decimals I
Click to show product description

Add to CurrClick Order

MIRL Arithmetic I
by Elizabeth D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/23/2009 20:23:35

We really enjoy this product. My boys just loved the caring for pests, estimation by rounding, they learned estimation and when our chicks arrived they started estimating how much chick feed we use daily. We also really liked that it uses other countries, Australia and Africa in the studies, so learned some about them also. Sharing snacks, dividing whole numbers was my personal favorite, it showed other examples of daily life to further explain division. I really like that it uses every day dealings to not only teach math, but show how we use it every day in our lives. This is one that we will use again, and highly recommend to others.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
MIRL Arithmetic I
Click to show product description

Add to CurrClick Order

MIRL Linear Functions I
by michael a. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/23/2009 10:30:12

We really enjoyed using ths this workbook in our home!! My daughter is studying Pre-Algrebra, and has not reached these lesson in her studies, but she grasped the concepts very quickly. I gave her a few short lessons on how to properly write and solve the equation and she was ready to go. She really enjoyed using the real word senarios. As the teacher, I loved the way the answers are given step by step and instruction is easy to follow.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
MIRL Linear Functions I
Click to show product description

Add to CurrClick Order

MIRL Polynomial, Power, Logistic, Rational Functions I
by Patti C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/22/2009 12:43:03

I need to state first that I have several of these workbooks and love everyone. The series is designed to answer the question "Why do I need to learn this?" that everyone asks at some point while learning math. Even those of us who love math. This one was fascinating, and works with the higher levels. Looking at the European Population, you will be working with quadratic and cubic functions, determining the best function to fit the data, and graphing polynomial functions. Whoa! There is an exercise working with female height and weight, including body mass index. This uses regression, converting kilograms to pounds, and converting centimeters to inches. All of the exercises require determining the best function to use to answer the questions. In other words making you think about how to solve the problem rather than just plugging in an equation. These books are big on the "learning how to think" rather than "what to think" method. Something we could really use more of in math curriculum



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
MIRL Polynomial, Power, Logistic, Rational Functions I
Click to show product description

Add to CurrClick Order

MIRL Fractions, Percents, Decimals II
by Patti C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/22/2009 11:37:15

This book would be really helpful for adults, as well as kids. The subjects covered are timely and important. The exercises on "college basketball" are the type of thing used by coaches around the country. Who says you don't need math if you're a sports nut? The "body temperature" exercise had information that I wasn't aware of, namely that the ear temperature is different. I wondered why that thermometer I bought never seemed correct. The exercises for the different real estate markets were absolutely fascinating. I love that there were a couple of different markets used to show how important this kind of process really is. If more government officials did the sales tax exercise, we might really be in trouble. Perhaps they are doing them. I just love this series of books. I remember being in school, and now home schooling my own kids, how many times I heard the question "Why do I need to know this?" My husband said that this very thing was what kept him from being interested in math. I highly recommend this series.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
MIRL Fractions, Percents, Decimals II
Click to show product description

Add to CurrClick Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 20 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Popular Curriculum
 Gift Certificates