CurrClick
Quick Links
Category
Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Grades 3-5 Life Science: Cells and Organisms
by Liz P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/29/2016 20:54:19

We have just completed this Organisms and Cells Intellego Unit Study. I loved the way it was set out in four sections: 1) Cell structure 2) Photosynthesis 3) Cell Cycle 4) DNA However it was sorely lacking in some areas. When we complete a unit study, the children use those studies to look back on. This one was written to the parent rather than the child and had VERY little information in the packet. I found that I needed to print off a LOT of information for them to enable the study to be complete and something they could look back on to jog their memories. For example: cell structure of both plant and animal cells, mitosis and meiosis. (There was more!) Whilst most of the links worked in the first three chapters, sadly in the fourth chapter MOST of the links did not work once again resulting in me having to do my own research and coming up with information for the children. SO, yes I am glad I found this study BUT be warned of the inadequacies should you decide to purchase it yourself. 3 stars for just okay.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Grades 3-5 Life Science: Cells and Organisms
Click to show product description

Add to CurrClick Order

Astronomy for Grades 6-8
by Julia B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/24/2015 12:14:02

A previous review noting broken links, content that had been removed due to copyright issues, and so forth is spot on. I also felt that the depth of the material is very uneven. Some of the links lead to information seemingly intended for younger kids, while other links lead to information that appears to be geared to a post-secondary audience. In addition, some of the online material is very scattered. You can't just read the entire text in one go; you've got to click on scads of embedded links. The stop-start effect undermines the readability of the content and thus comprehension.

On the plus side, the course itself is laid out very well, with the subjects presented in a logical and easy-to-follow manner. I'm consequently using the curriculum as an outline of topics to cover in our astronomy unit and hunting down resources to replace what's lacking in the curriculum. I'm also supplementing the curriculum with additional material to highlight the role of women in astronomy and give some historical context to the material.

In summary, I think this curriculum is a good jumping off point and would help a person organize an astronomy unit, but I don't think it's adequate to stand alone.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Astronomy for Grades 6-8
Click to show product description

Add to CurrClick Order

Grades 6-8 History: The World War I Era
by Misti S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/07/2015 12:47:50

This is a very comprehensive unit with very many resources. It clearly states it is a virtual journey. I am planning a unit for a small group of students (6) in a setting where they do not all have access to a computer, nor do we have Smart Boards. I was hoping to go through the unit and be able to print off some of the sites (with citing) for use in class. It is so comprehensive, with so many different excellent sites represented, that it is not easy to use in the way I had hoped. Chapter One includes the beginning to the end of the war with 13 lessons. Chapter Two investigates the Russian Revolution and how it related to WWI with 7 lessons. Chapter Three includes study of the quest for peace, African Americans post-war, and beginning of the Roaring Twenties with 10 lessons. Many lessons include an original graphic, an introduction to a particular website text or video, the link, and some questions to 'have your student to consider' (student would have to write thoughts or answers on a separate paper). This unit would best be utilized by one student on a computer, or in a classroom with the teacher's computer projected or Smart Board, or in a technology lab. Very thorough and excellent resource. It does, however, require a lot of teacher preparation to see what the links go to and how to use that with your students.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Grades 6-8 History: The World War I Era
Click to show product description

Add to CurrClick Order

Grades 3-5 World History Vol. IV: After the Middle Ages
by amber g. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/07/2014 09:37:53

This is one of 4 units I've purchased from Intellego. A majority of the links in each unit don't work. At first I began making note of all the broken links so I could email them but it is too many. It's very frustrating because if the links did work, this might actually be a good line of curriculum. I feel like I wasted my money.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Grades 3-5 World History Vol. IV: After the Middle Ages
Click to show product description

Add to CurrClick Order

Publisher Reply:
Thank you for taking the time to review this title! We really appreciate it. We are sorry to hear that you experienced problems with the links. Please know that we will do everything possible to make sure the links are active and working for you. We continually monitor our titles to check for down links, but sometimes, customers find down links before we do! Either way, we can easily make the changes using our database, so that you will be redirected to the new link ASAP. We are going through every link in this unit study right now and updating all to make sure they are operational and valid. In the future, if you ever encounter a dead link before we do, just let us know and we will make the change ASAP!
Earth Science: Natural Disasters
by Edwina M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/16/2014 15:54:07

While it seems that most of the original links have expired (like someone has already mentioned) many of the new links seem fine sort of and go along with what is being taught most of the time. I have clicked on some of the links though and the description in the text really doesn't seem accurate to the link we were taken to. Sometimes, different links in the section take you to the same internet site and page over and over again! Every once in a while though, we have been taken to a site that tells you to do a search on the site to find information instead of to a page to work with! Of course, sometimes the description in the text states we'll be taken to a page to do such and such activity, instead we were taken to a site that explained something instead!! This is something that REALLY bugged me since our son is a kinetic learner and learns best by doing hands-on activities. It would have been nicer to find another site with an activity, like the text said we would be taken. Since we haven't even finished the first chapter, I'm so frustrated now that I wish I hadn't bought it. Our eleven year old autistic son usually LOVES doing the unit studies by Intellego Unit Studies. Personally, I wish there were more hands-on activities to fit a kinetic learner and fewer written assignments, like some of their other units, but this is still a very good unit study to teach about natural disasters although I'm not as happy with it as I normally am. One thing I really don't like are the KWL charts that are a part of each and every chapter, so we usually just skip that part of the unit. After all, how can a child who has never experienced most of the natural disasters that are being discussed be able to answer the question "What do I want to learn about _?" at the beginning of each chapter? I also wish there were more to the lessons included about what a person should do if they are in a situation where a natural disaster occurs. There is only one page dedicated to each disaster with a few paragraphs and between two and several links. That will only teach so much though. To me, these only things I really found missing from this unit. Other than that, the lessons are well rounded and easy to follow. Just expect to probably need to find additional hands-on activities if your child is a kinetic learner. Personally, the price should be less, considering I had to find additional activities and pay for some of them and search sites to find the materials we were supposed to be reading about once we were taken to a site several times! One free site I would suggest to help teach this study is http://cp.c-ij.com/en/contents/3151/list_45_1.html where I found a paper model of a volcano, earth quake, and cross section of the planet Earth.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Earth Science: Natural Disasters
Click to show product description

Add to CurrClick Order

Grades 3-5 American History III: Westward Expansion and Civil War
by Heidi H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/03/2014 21:28:47

The connections that are made with the lesson plans are great. A huge disappointment is that the links never work on an iPad. I use an iPad for almost all my teaching because I take it anywhere I go with my family. Even if it is the couch. Now we have to sit at the computer to do our lessons.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Grades 3-5 American History III: Westward Expansion and Civil War
Click to show product description

Add to CurrClick Order

Across the United States K-2
by Jenny R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/14/2014 21:59:56

This pains me a bit to write because we've used a number of Intellego's unit studies with great success, but this one was incredibly disappointing. The content is incredibly thin - basically the same activities each time, but for a different state. Repetition I could handle, but not if the activities aren't very interesting to begin with.

I'm glad I bought it when it was on sale because we aren't going to use this one at all. I do have the 3-5 US Geography unit for my 4th grader and I'm much happier with that one. For my 1st grader I'm going to use some free notebooking pages and books from the library instead.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Across the United States K-2
Click to show product description

Add to CurrClick Order

Grades 3-5 World History Vol. I: Ancient Rome
by Erica O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/05/2013 23:44:45

My kids and I really enjoyed this unit. There were a couple links that were no good or too hard to use but we learned a ton and had a great time with it. The information was presented in an orderly way that I really liked because we used it in conjunction with the Story of the World and a free lapbook that I found online and it all worked very well together.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Grades 3-5 World History Vol. I: Ancient Rome
Click to show product description

Add to CurrClick Order

Earth Science: Natural Disasters
by Alex S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/02/2013 04:40:45

Most of the links in the unit couldn't be found. What a waste of money! :(



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Earth Science: Natural Disasters
Click to show product description

Add to CurrClick Order

Publisher Reply:
We’re sorry you had trouble with this unit. However, all of the links are updated frequently using a redirect feature in our database. In order to access the updated links, you need to click on the links in the PDF (as opposed to typing them or copying/pasting them into your browser). This way, you will be redirected to the new and updated links. This unit contains over 170 links to external web sites and all are currently functional and operational. We hope that you will try it again and if you are still having trouble accessing the sites, please contact us directly and we will do whatever we can to troubleshoot and get you on your way to enjoying your unit study! :)
Human Body Vol. 1 for Grades 3-5
by Rachel K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/23/2013 13:09:00

We have used a number of these units and they have all been great. These units provide great links to websites, videos, and activities. My 3 boys enjoy these very much, they enjoy the videos and links and carrying out teh practical experiments and activities. Great value for money, well organised, a great time saver that's good quiality and interesting too. We'll be using them again this year.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Human Body Vol. 1 for Grades 3-5
Click to show product description

Add to CurrClick Order

Grades 3-5 Geography: The United States
by Tiffany A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/16/2013 02:54:26

We will not finish this unit. My student really dislikes it. So far, the unit consists mainly of links to poor or mediocre websites that I could have (an in some cases have) found on my own. She is quite bored and has learned more by working a map puzzle, playing a board game (a single time), and coloring what she learned of physical geography on the map. It seems that the information made available through this study is a little too brief and simplistic and is not "tethered" to anything so does not form lasting connections. From the teacher's perspective, I see this study as being disjointed and I do not like that it really relies on me to hunt down and present the information; I could have done that without paying for it!



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Grades 3-5 Geography: The United States
Click to show product description

Add to CurrClick Order

Globetrotting with Cinderella: Literature, Geography and Culture Studies
by Anita C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/31/2013 04:28:14

There is a huge amount of material in this book with links to many webpages for the differing versions of the Cinderella story and for other activities linking the story and the culture it comes from.

It's worth setting up a journal (either with pretty print out pages or just a mix of plain and lined pages) in a binder to record all of the work as you go and having a look at the final part of the book which suggests ways to compile your "portfolio" before you start rather than trying to remember the huge amount of work and activities at the end of the process.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Globetrotting with Cinderella: Literature, Geography and Culture Studies
Click to show product description

Add to CurrClick Order

Astronomy for Grades 6-8
by Fein O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/29/2013 04:57:40

Let down by broken links, or links to youtube removed due to copyright violations, and in one case only 4/5 viewable in a series. Frustrating.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Astronomy for Grades 6-8
Click to show product description

Add to CurrClick Order

Whales
by Fein O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/29/2013 04:55:18

Let down by broken links, or links to youtube removed due to copyright violations. Frustrating.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Whales
Click to show product description

Add to CurrClick Order

Grades 6-8 History: Middle Ages I
by Fein O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/29/2013 04:53:12

Let down by broken links, or links to youtube removed due to copyright violations. Also, video link which was age inappropriate for the lower age in this banding.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Grades 6-8 History: Middle Ages I
Click to show product description

Add to CurrClick Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 71 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Popular Classes and Curriculum
 Gift Certificates