CurrClick
Browse Categories
Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
World Study Guide: Family Series - Generation to Generation
by Jaime W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/18/2013 15:57:24

I highly recommend this World for Learning study guide, as well as their other literature-based study guides. The Generation to Generation study guide is especially wonderful because it becomes a beautifully constructed family keepsake. The directions and illustrations for putting all of the pockets and mini-books together is very well done. The suggested materials are well worth the investment for such a lovely end-product. It is also nice that your children can learn about and make a book for as many family members as they would like. I believe that World for Learning study guides are much superior to other literature-based lapbooks.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World Study Guide: Family Series - Generation to Generation
Click to show product description

Add to CurrClick Order

My Extreme Weather Plan & Checklist
by Sharyn M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/29/2013 19:07:59

I am a homeschooling Mum. This product is great. With our storm season starting in Australia it will be great to have an extreme plan in place.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
My Extreme Weather Plan & Checklist
Click to show product description

Add to CurrClick Order

My Extreme Weather Plan & Checklist
by Kelly L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/20/2013 14:58:37

This is an awesome booklet that has pertinent information, especially if you live in an area that is exposed to such extreme weather like hurricanes. I like how the booklet can be used by any grade level and includes fun crosswords and riddlers but also information on the difference between a warning and watch, hurricane information and names from 2011 to 2016 and most important, family procedure in case of an emergency. Great product, thank you!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World Study Guide: Literature Series - The Secret Garden
by Ruthie S. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/10/2013 16:39:33

This is a fantastic book study of the Secret Garden. My young girls are too young at present to do this study but I'm glad I have this resource for future use. We are a unit study type family and love to see how great literature can expand into a fun adventure. I don't ordinarily see an author study in a pre-packaged literature study but it's in this one. The material is expected to be completed in a lapbook form. The pictures included are very detailed and easy-to-understand in how to construct the lapbook. Although, I think I would much rather have it contained within a notebook but I do like the option of the traditional file folder. If you have a younger set (grades 3-4), you may want them to share a lapbook; especially if you have one that hates to write. Older children can have have their own set if they desire. Although I don't see why you would have more than one set of vocabulary cards. The vocabulary cards are flexible since you have the choice of having the definition already printed on the back or you may have your student actually write the definition on the back of the cards. A vocabulary answer key is included and makes it nice for the teacher if she chooses to play a vocabulary game with her students using the cards.
I was pleasantly surprised to see the recipe cards for the book study and two of them are mentioned in the book. Thankfully, almost all ingredients are easy to find. There was only one ingredient that I'm not familiar with and I may have to find a substitute for it (mascarpone, anyone?). An added touch for your culinary treat is a "The Great Taste Test" page. Students can rate their opinion of each food. Very clever but I wish that it had a blank space in case you find another English recipe that isn't included (but I suppose I'm nit-picking).
Of course, you can watch the Secret Garden movie and complete the venn diagram and compare the book and the movie. There are several different versions and they didn't specify which one so this activity is very open-ended and great since not every library carries the same version. I'm not going to give away EVERYTHING that is in this download but I will say that I am impressed. The only thing I didn't see is a geography study but that can be easy added with little trouble. Other than that, everything you need is in here. If you can catch it on sale, it's a great value.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World Study Guide: Literature Series - The Secret Garden
Click to show product description

Add to CurrClick Order

World Study Guide: Literature Series - Mary Poppins
by Kelly L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/27/2013 20:36:13

Wonderful directions and pictures on how to put the unit together and includes vocabulary, timelines, music of the era, fill in research, diagrams! It looks like a fun and fascinating study and it would be an interesting study to compare the book to the classic Disney movie, which is a favorite in our family!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World Study Guide: Literature Series - Mary Poppins
Click to show product description

Add to CurrClick Order

World Study Guide: Literature Series - The Adventures of Tom Sawyer
by Kelly L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/20/2013 20:27:40

A great unit study with good directions on how to put it together and offers vocabulary, diagrams, maps, and story sequence ideas so you can spend the time enjoying it with your children putting it together! Looking forward to doing this one soon!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World Study Guide: Literature Series - The Adventures of Tom Sawyer
Click to show product description

Add to CurrClick Order

World Study Guide: Literature Series - Around the World in 80 Days
by Kelly L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/02/2013 16:15:40

What a wonderful idea to combine learning with Disney World! This a great advantage of being a homeschool family in Florida! There are very good directions on how to put the unit study together with different pages for biographies, time lines, vocabulary, maps and diagrams for putting together a booklet on this study. This is a hand on study where the student is doing the learning so there is no information on the book itself minus some pictures and the worksheets so it is reading the book and then using this unit study as a tool but it is very well put together and has some great ideas!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
World Study Guide: Literature Series - Around the World in 80 Days
Click to show product description

Add to CurrClick Order

World Study Guide: Literature Series - The Wonderful Wizard of Oz
by Michelle S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/16/2012 18:39:26

We enjoyed this! It was a clever way to incorporate things into the reading of this classic tale. Directions & suggestions for the parents were wonderful, esp since this was the first one I had done from them, and I will definitely order other books in the literature series from them. Havent had the chance to try the recipes yet, but my children are looking forward to that part & comparing them.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World Study Guide: Literature Series - The Wonderful Wizard of Oz
Click to show product description

Add to CurrClick Order

World Study Guide: Literature Series - The Wonderful Wizard of Oz
by jackie S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/14/2012 15:14:55

This product was wonderfuli. I have always loved the story of the Wizard of Oz and this product makes it come alive for my children. To have this to add to the reading program is a wonderful additon and I will alwasy think of it when I want to study the Wizard of Oz in the classrom



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World Study Guide: Literature Series - Mary Poppins
by Beata B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/09/2012 02:04:44

This is a different way of making a lapbook or folder book. The instructions are very nice and clear. All the mini books are nicely designed with pictures that fit the style of the book. Very nice guide!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World Study Guide: Literature Series - Mary Poppins
Click to show product description

Add to CurrClick Order

World Study Guide: Literature Series - The Jungle Book
by Melody K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/08/2012 13:21:47

I loved this unit study! I used it for all my students who were in grades K, 4 and 9 at the time. We all worked together and each student got a better understanding of the book as a whole and of the times during which the book was written. It was really useful for keeping the students interested in the story and kept them wondering what we'd be doing during the next literature lesson. I recommend this for all age groups and I also recommend it for anyone wishing to work with their children over the summer. I think it would be a great summer project.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World Study Guide: Literature Series - The Jungle Book
Click to show product description

Add to CurrClick Order

World Study Guide: Literature Series - The Jungle Book
by Nancy B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/08/2012 11:53:43

Great study guide for the Jungle Book, with the added fun of being able to connect the learning to a trip to Disney's Animal Kingdom if you are lucky enough to be able to do that. I loved the book report part of the lap book. It broke down the essential elements one would want to include in a book report, in very manageable chunks--great for kids who have trouble writing. This study guide includes recipes, too--a fun addition. Also, is a section to compare/contrast the book with the movie. Overall, a comprehensive study of this wonderful book, with fun, engaging learning activities.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World Study Guide: Literature Series - The Wonderful Wizard of Oz
by Amanda K. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/01/2011 22:13:04

World Study Guides has created a variety of literature study guides and this one is for the popular book, “The Wonderful Wizard of Oz.” It is suggested for ages 5-15, so it is a study guide the whole family can work through together (our favorite way to learn). I was intrigued by this product because I love visiting Walt Disney World and I saw they gave suggestions for ways to tie in the themes in the book with items of interest in the theme parks. In addition, our family plans to watch a live theatre production of “The Wizard of Oz” this year and I thought this would tie in nicely. They give suggestions for ways to help your children compare and contrast the book with the movie. I figured this would be another way we could compare what we read in the book with our experience at the live show. I am impressed with their coverage of the background information on the author and the way they created a timeline of the major events in the author’s life that helped to inspire the story. They give step-by-step instructions on how to create a lapbook type storage system, complete with a 3 hole punched binding and a velcro closure. The finished product looks very sharp! There are mini books you can use to help your student learn vocabulary words and their definitions, as well as prompts for discussion questions. There is a section titled “Recipes from Oz” that will encourage you and your children to move your lessons into the kitchen to create some yummy themed cuisine. They provide a page called “The Great Taste Test” that allows you and your family to rate each recipe--a fun exercise for the children. There is another section that teaches your child how to write a cinquain poem and walks them through the steps to create one of their own. They provide suggestions for where to find the best folders and supplies and lots of great photos of the finished product to guide you through creating a masterpiece of your own. This is an impressive guide and a fun way to work through this famous book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World Study Guide: Literature Series - The Wonderful Wizard of Oz
Click to show product description

Add to CurrClick Order

World Study Guide: Literature Series - The Jungle Book
by maren k. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/16/2011 11:00:49

I was positively surprised, that this is more a lapbook, which i think is awesome!!! Thanks for letting us try this for free!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
World Study Guide: Literature Series - The Jungle Book
Click to show product description

Add to CurrClick Order

Displaying 1 to 14 (of 14 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Popular Curriculum
 Gift Certificates