CurrClick
Browse Categories
Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
The Hobbit
by Brittney C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/04/2013 21:17:30

This is a very thorough learning book. My 7 & 9 year old are both using it as we read the novel together!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Hobbit
Click to show product description

Add to CurrClick Order

Dinosaurs
by Niki R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/08/2012 23:18:07

Really great!!! My son loves dinosaurs and he relly loved this!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dinosaurs
Click to show product description

Add to CurrClick Order

Star Wars: A Study of the Hero Myth
by marta z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/08/2012 16:31:29

my teenage boy loved working on this, it made language arts fun for him.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Wars:  A Study of the Hero Myth
Click to show product description

Add to CurrClick Order

Star Wars: A Study of the Hero Myth
by Melody K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/20/2011 16:53:40

When my 15 year old son found out he could watch and read Star Wars and get school credit, he was very excited. I'm very happy to have found this course study! English and grammar have been really difficult for me concerning his curriculum. My son has a difficult time with writing, mainly because he is more interested in mechanics and electronics. I love the option of using this as either a half-credit or whole credit study. I feel sure it will hold his attention throughout the year and be a great source for building his confidence in writing and research. I also like the way this outline is broken down into smaller, manageable goals. I feel this will help my son to truly achieve those goals and be able to do them confidently and well. After reading some of the other reviews, I felt it was necessary to say that I, as a teacher, enjoy a rough outline so that I can build on that myself. I would also like to add that we are a Christian family who just really loves the Star Wars universe. I know this will not appeal to all Christian families but I felt it was a fabulous find for ours. I hope to see more studies like this in future.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Wars: A Study of the Hero Myth
by Verna B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/19/2011 15:43:31

I wanted so badly to like this - we are a Star Wars family! - but...I don't. It is what it says it is - an Outline. It doesn't give much to work with, honestly - just a lot of dry ideas.

I like other Live and Learn products, but this one was a bust.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Star Wars: A Study of the Hero Myth
by Mathilde K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/18/2011 13:34:07

I got it for a friend, not for myself. He thought it was cool.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Star Wars: A Study of the Hero Myth
by Sarah C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/17/2011 06:38:15

Maybe it's because I'm not familliar with this publisher but I didn't find anything of any use in this material. I'm glad I got it free, if I'd had to pay for it I would have been disappointed.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Star Wars: A Study of the Hero Myth
by Jessica M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/16/2011 18:45:09

Although the concept and layout of this product are generally good, I have to give this product a bad review due to content. I and my children were very excited to take on a fun, yet intellectual, course on the concept of the hero as found in literature, mythology, and the Star Wars movies. However, we were distressed when we discovered that the entire course centered around a book with a decidedly anti-christian bent. In fact, the author of said book comes right out and states that his purpose in writing the book is to show that all religions are basically the same, essentially based on a mythologically desireable hero concept which appeals to the uneducated masses, thus helping the adherents of religion to stop disagreeing with each other. In other words, he believes that all religion is false and is hoping to convince everyone to be an athiest like himself. While I understand that there are going to be some secular offerings on Currclick, I do not expect to find curriculum whose very purpose seems to be to disprove christianity, as well as religion in general. I will not be purchasing from this publisher in the future, and I hope that in the future such offerings will include some kind of caveat allowing christian parents to know what they're getting into before they download.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Star Wars: A Study of the Hero Myth
by Saniata M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/16/2011 16:07:14

Thanks. We were en-lightened! The material although not substantial was enough to tease us. Great format and use of colorful illustrations.

:)



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Star Wars: A Study of the Hero Myth
by Edyth N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/16/2011 12:40:27

I had hoped that this product would site specifics for the student and teacher to discuss. Instead it is boring and we will not use.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Give Thanks: A Thanksgiving Learn 'N Folder
by Leslie K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2010 01:05:33

This was our first at-home lapbook (he'd done a couple in a co-op class). I'd considered them many other times before but was always a bit overwhelmed with what looked like a LOT of work for me. This one made it a breeze! It had everything we could have possibly needed! We both loved it and now we're hooked! I'm still not sure I trust myself to attempt to put one together myself, but I would definitely use another one from these folks!! Two thumbs WAY up!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Give Thanks:  A Thanksgiving Learn 'N Folder
Click to show product description

Add to CurrClick Order

zzzzRide'Em, Cowboy!
by Heart o. t. M. T. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/16/2010 12:32:16

Ride 'Em Cowboy Review- 4 stars

What a fun curriculum! Our family especially loved the variety of cowboy topics covered in Ride 'Em Cowboy, a lapbook study by Live & Learn Press- everything from what a cowboy does and wears, to cowboy history, and even a peak at some famous TV cowboys! This study was well put together and interesting for a variety of ages.

In addition to being very interesting, the lapbook components are extensive and of the highest quality. Lots of graphics and freedom to add in facts that the student personally finds interesting allow for true customization of the lapbook and individual investment in the project. The end product could easily be a keepsake and resource that your family could save and use for years to come. The instructions were also incredibly thorough and easy to follow. No detail was left untouched.

The well thought out study guide also lends itself well to easy lesson planning which is always incredibly helpful! Each component of the lapbook is listed with the resources you will need and how the component can best be completed. Simple for mom plus freedom for the kiddo to really study the topic and find what they think is most important- win/win!

This study is heavily internet linked with high-quality websites to investigate the cowboy way of life. My four year old enjoyed hearing the cowboy songs and taking the virtual tours of cowboy museums very much. Although we liked all the sites we visited and found thorough information, it would have been nice to have more of an emphasis on finding things out through literature. However, a book list is included with the study and I am sure you could easily tailor the study and lapbook materials more towards the information you find in books rather than just on the internet.

I would highly recommend this study and think your family will enjoy it just as much as ours!

I received this download from CurrClick for honest review as a part of the Heart of the Matter Review Team. All opinions are solely my own. HOTM Team, MacKenzie



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
zzzzRide'Em, Cowboy!
Click to show product description

Add to CurrClick Order

Study-An-Artist
by Heart o. t. M. T. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/10/2010 08:13:21

Do you have a hard time teaching your children about artists? Have you ever thought after teaching you children about a particular artist that a week later they remember nothing? Yea, me too. One of the ways I have helped my children to remember things is either by note-booking or by lapbooking or my favorite, a combination of the two. The biggest problem for me is finding a resource that has the mini books and all the other elements for your lapbook already completed for you and ready to print and cut at a reasonable price.

Oh I have found many, but some are very, very expensive. I found a good resource that is adaptable for any artist, any age and any type of homeschooling. It is called Study an Artist by Live and Learn Press. They give you 37 pages of essentials for lapbooking and note-booking, no matter what your style of homeschooling you do.

Maybe you just have a love for art and have a favorite artist you want to learn more about. Or you could have a budding artist at home and want him/her to learn more about a particular artist. Or you could be like me and just have been waiting to find a decently priced resource. Study an Artist by Live and Learn Press has a Learn N Fold e-book that can be used to study any artist your heart desires. Their e-book includes minibooks about the artist's life, famous works, popularity, preferred media, contemporaries, and so on. They have included minibooks for a book report and a critique of your favorite work by that particular artist.

I give Study an Artist by Live and Learn Press a 4 out of 5. $18.00 is a great price for all the full color resources you get in this Learn and Fold book. Live and Learn Press has many other e-books too that you might want to take a look at and most are reasonably priced. HOTM Team, Kristin My blog is http://nutbugs.com/study-an-artist/



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Study-An-Artist
Click to show product description

Add to CurrClick Order

zzzzWriters Write!
by Heart o. t. M. T. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/22/2010 14:31:43

If you are looking for a way to introduce a love of writing to your kids then Writers Write by Live and Learn Press is the way to go. Using a lapbooking style of teaching, this download thoroughly covers all of the important aspects for beginning the writing process. Flapbooks and accordion folds cover topics such as grammar, proofreading marks, transition words and everything else in between. It’s fun to learn when paragraph structure is compared to a sandwich and the bun is a topic sentence. As a complete writing curriculum, Writers Write would be a bit slim. As a co-op class or an introductory jump-off point for a year-long writing course, this download is well worth purchasing. Five of five stars. HOTM Team, Pamela



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
zzzzWriters Write!
Click to show product description

Add to CurrClick Order

A Day at an Amusement Park
by Beth B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/14/2010 14:20:52

My son's current dream is to grow up and build his own amusement park. This study allowed me to show him that I take his dreams seriously and organize it in a way that we can use it for school credit.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Day at an Amusement Park
Click to show product description

Add to CurrClick Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 29 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Popular Curriculum
 Gift Certificates